Listen Live on  

100.3 The Bus

We Play Everything - Des Moines

Springsteen, Stipe, Frey among 2014 Rock Hall presenters

Springsteen, Stipe, Frey among 2014 Rock Hall presenters
Posted April 1st, 2014 @ 1:00pm

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is bringing in a few current members to welcome the Class of 2014. 

Former R.E.M. frontman Michael Stipe will be at next week's Brooklyn ceremony to induct Nirvana, while Bruce Springsteen will do the honors for the E Street Band and Glenn Frey of the Eagles will induct Linda Ronstadt.  But a couple non-members got an invite as well.  Coldplay's Chris Martin will pay tribute to Peter Gabriel, Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello will induct Kiss, and Roots drummer Questlove will honor Hall and Oates.  Peter Asher will induct this year's non-performers Brian Epstein and Andrew Loog Oldham, but there's still no word on who will induct Yusuf Islam, a.k.a. Cat Stevens. 

As for the performances at this year's induction ceremony, Gabriel, Yusuf, Hall and Oates, and Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band are all planning to take the stage themselves.  But Ronstadt is unable to attend the event due to health issues related to Parkinson’s disease, so Stevie Nicks, Carrie Underwood, Emmylou Harris, Sheryl Crow and Bonnie Raitt are going to perform in her place. 

Kiss has also opted not to play the show after a disagreement over which members would participate.  There's also no word on a performance from the surviving members of Nirvana without the band's late frontman Kurt Cobain. 

The 2014 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place April 10th at Brooklyn's Barclays Center. 

Photo Credit Getty Images

Recommended Stories

More from 100.3 The Bus